Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

gungy brushes and other questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down

gungy brushes and other questions

Post by staysilly on Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:58 pm

Hi mentors

I've been working now for quite a few years, but I have to admit that only recently am I really beginning to see jobs coming in more frequently. Back to back birthday parties etc.

I have bought myself a brand new beautiful carrying case on wheels I love you I feel like my kit is beginning to be comfortable and user friendly. I'm getting quite quick and my designs are looking more polished and professional thanks to all your amazing tips and videos.

BUT, I have a few difficulties that I just cannot seem to work out! Now I know some of you are going to roll your eyes and ask yourself how the hell has she been working, but these things just don't seem to have smoothed themselves out, anyway, here are my problems (please go easy on me!):

1. How do I stop my paint brushes from getting gungy and gloopy after working more than an hour straight? I spray my sponges and paints, I try to use the same brush for each colour or colour combo, but my white and black especially tend to get really congealed after a few faces. Should I be washing them off more often? I live in a very hot climate, so I have to spray the paints almost every face and so my paint doesn't stay lovely and wet very long.

2. I seem to end up with very messy paints, different colours mixed on the tops, trying to find pure white at the end of a gig is hard! is this normal?? what can I do to keep things purer?

3. Last one, and this is a bit silly, but I have the Royal Brush - Square Brush Basin, which I normally find really convenient, I try to keep one side clear so that I can get to all the brushes easily, but I do end up swiping myself a lot!