Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

What split cakes do I neeeeed? What brand for bases?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

What split cakes do I neeeeed? What brand for bases?

Post by DNNovelty on Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:11 pm

I am just starting out in the face paint arena, and I ordered some supplies and wondered what I need in terms of split cakes. I ordered a TAG rainbow cake and two girly-colored split cakes so far. My customers are at least 90% children. I am thinking one for leaves/ snakes, one for flames, and one for butterflies? Do I need more? What do you find you use the most when painting children's faces?

Also, I am wondering how certain paints fare in terms of staining. Pretty much everything I ordered is TAG except a little Wolfe palette. I have read Snaz is pretty good for bases, but then in other posts I see it is crap. Is TAG ok for bases, or should I pick up a diff brand for non-staining bases?

Thanks everyone!

DNNovelty

Number of posts : 9
Registration date : 2013-02-26

Back to top Go down

Re: What split cakes do I neeeeed? What brand for bases?

Post by martha on Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:42 pm

You can get a ton of info by using the search box or checking the Frequently Asked Question section. Personally I would not use Wolfe, DFX, or Chameleon for bases. Paradise, Snaz, TAG, and Kryolan work better for bases. Wolfe or DFX are the best for linework - again, my opinion.
martha

Number of posts : 1951
Registration date : 2011-05-22

Back to top Go down

Post by Shiranshoku on Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:53 pm

Also, using Google can help you sift through the form. Just type 'x' site:www.facepaintforum.com in the search bar. X being your search term.