Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Thinking out loud...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Thinking out loud...

Post by Shiranshoku on Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:38 pm

Hi everyone!

Since I started painting, I've had a few people ask me to paint at bday parties etc. I don't feel ready for that, so I declined, but... Some questions popped up!

- my SO told me I could paint for free, because it would give me a chance to practice. I agree, but it rubs me the wrong way to do it for free. I mean, it's cost me a lot of time, effort and money. Even though I still need practice, I'd make those kids happy. It's worth paying for.

- but... If I charge, -and this is for the belgian people here-, can I just do it 'on the side'? Of specifiek: dat mag toch niet in 't zwart? Or could it be like babysitting: babysitters don't pay any taxes on their earnings, do they?

Given the taxation system in Belgium, I would really need to be booked very often to make a profit. If you're self-employed but are a student/have a job, you loose at the very least 40 % of your earnings to taxes. Plus about 350 of 'social contribution' every three months. Plus the VAT. And I'm probably forgetting things...

I don't relish the idea of avoiding taxes, but how do you -belgian- guys make ends meet??

- should I start thinking of a business name/brand right away?

Those are the most 'burning' issues, lol. Thanks for your thoughts and input!
Shiranshoku

Number of posts : 83
Registration date : 2013-01-31

Back to top Go down

Re: Thinking out loud...

Post by SmileLines on Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:51 pm