Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Hey From the UK :-D

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hey From the UK :-D

Post by FlawlessFantasyArt on Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:21 pm

Hi lovely creative people,
I would just like to introduce myself, tell a bit of my story to this point and hopefully make some like minded friends and share advice and tips from our experiences.
I'm Sophia, I qualified as a make up artist in 2007 after doing a 2 year full time course that covered every aspect of make up artistry that included face & body painting and character make up. I did really well at college and finished my course with distinction. I then decided that I wanted to move to London and go to university and pursue the SFX side of make up, but there were issues with the course that resulted in me loosing all my confidence in my ability. Being a sensitive artist I took this hard! So for a few years I drifted from job to job all within the health & social care profession.
I managed to keep up my skills by doing a few make up shoots here and there and also taking my paints to friends parties and when I would go to festivals, going little (drunken) freebies to keep in the festival spirit :-D
Last year came a turing point, my confidence was growing again but not to the point where I could start a business in the UK, the whole idea seemed monumental and I was still scared. So I decided that I would take myself to Ibiza, Spain and see what happened. I said to myself, "Whatever happens here is going to be what I am meant to do with my life." and so it began....
I had an amazing summer as a body painter, my confidence grew, my portfolio grew and I was getting noticed for my skills by the right people. I even managed to get a job as the body painter for LMFAO for their Ibiza leg of their tour in the biggest club in the world. I couldn't believe it! The best decision I ever made.