Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Hi all! Brand newby with questions...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hi all! Brand newby with questions...

Post by ediesbeads on Fri Aug 16, 2013 11:51 am

Hi!

A quick intro...

I'm a jewelry maker, and sell jewelry supplies online.  I am creative, but have never really been a painter.  But I love kids, and love working with kids. I've taught jewelry making with kids for years.  I've been learning balloon twisting and thought this would be another skill to add to my bank of skills.

I am totally new to this... in fact I just got my first paints today!  I ordered the Snazaroo party kit from Amazon.  Made a decent looking little snake on my son's arm, and did a butterfly on my daughter.  Not good, but you have to start somewhere!

I've been reading the forums for about a week and checking out you tube videos.  

A few questions...

Does anyone use cosmetic sponges?  Just thinking about stuff I have laying around before spending more money..

The first thing I will purchase is a smaller brush.  The brush they send with the kit is WAY to  big for decent detail work.  Good brands for an inexpensive brush or set of brushes?  

Do you rinse between colors, or keep a brush for each color?  How do you handle that?

How many brushes, sponges, and other applicators do you use on gig?  Just trying to estimate the initial investment before actually doing this for money...

I've read the forums about top 10 faces etc.... but what are your favorite starter faces for newbies.  What are your EASY designs that kids still like?

Thanks for any input!

Edie
ediesbeads

Number of posts : 74
Registration date : 2013-08-15

Back to top Go down

Re: Hi all! Brand newby with questions...

Post by JennyNixe on Fri Aug 16, 2013 1:59 pm

Welcome!