Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Introductions: Devon Reid

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Introductions: Devon Reid

Post by chelicerate on Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:27 am

Good day,
I am an American living in Stockholm.  I am a sculptor and painter ~ and recently got a few gigs painting faces.  It has been a good thing for supplementing income here, and turned out to be a lot of fun.  The biggest challenge for me (so far) is to "crank em out". Meaning sacrificing detail and aesthetics for speed.  I'm looking for a resource on fast easy designs that make the kidlets happy.  I have some jobs coming up and can't be making a Sistine chapel on everybody. Any advice is much appreciated
Devon
chelicerate

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2014-03-12

http://www.facebook.com/chelicerateart

Back to top Go down

Re: Introductions: Devon Reid

Post by fesspenter on Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:46 am

Dear chelicerate:
Welcome to the Forum!
When it comes to speed...
the key word is
PRACTICE!
Painting something small on a cheek is not always the speediest art.  
It is better to be good at face painting and get quicker, surer lines,
than to be fast, and craptastic.
With your background in painting and sculpting, I have a feeling that you are fantastic at face painting.   I was originally a brush painter.  Once I picked up sponges, and began to paint and shape the architecture of my face painting in large, bold marks, I could quickly get back into my comfort zone with my brushes to pull the artwork all together.  
I can create a whole tiger face in about 2/3 of the time it takes to paint a tiny tiger on a child's cheek.  
Practice your line work...
Teardrops, thick to thin, and then thin to thick, from right to left, and left to right.  
Lines from thick to thin to thick to thin.
Swirls and scrolls.  
Dots.
These are your "language" of face painting.