Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Big Red painter here!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Big Red painter here!

Post by Whimzie on Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:42 pm

Hello everyone!
Well, I'm chiming in from the little city of Omaha, NE., where we think Husker nation is the biggest thing around pretty much because it IS! However, we have evolved from the horse-drawn covered wagon quite a few decades ago. It's hilarious to me the questions I get about the mid-west being born and raised here...yes, we do have indoor plumbing.
Anyways, I am kinda new to this type of site, but I have been face painting for about 5 years now. As it is with most things in my life, I found it by complete accident. I was nominated to face paint at a community carnival my job was throwing after I painted a wall mural in a conference room at work. Everyone found out I had some skills and I found out it was pretty fun! So I kept going with it.
I do have some "formal" training in fine arts through my associates degree in graphic communication. However, I'm noticing that doesn't necessarily prepare me for the face as a canvas, HA! However, my favorite memories of painting are from when I was about 4 years old and my grandpa gave me a hand-made table/chair set that fit in my bedroom closet where I spent hour upon hour painting pretty much anything I could get my hands on. Every Christmas was full of paints, brushes, crayons, pastels, pencils, papers, etc. It's just something I thoroughly enjoy and when you combine it with kids and the magical surprise when they look in that mirror to see their monster/princess face... well, I LOVE IT!
I would love to hear ideas from some more seasoned painters to hone the craft and make those long lines go more easily and more quickly.