Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Hi from Cincinnati!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hi from Cincinnati!

Post by Outinapout on Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:53 am

haha, feels so funny introducing myself, but I know people like to "know" who they're talking to on forums, so here goes...

I'm Jessica. I'm a professional makeup artist in Cincinnati, OH who has been doing makeup professionally for....19 years! Which makes me sound way older than I think I am Wink Seriously, though, I started when I was 18 and really just loved everything about it. I did retail for a very long time, with freelancing gigs here and there.

In 2008, when I had my daughter, I left retail and started freelancing commercially, as well as writing a blog to share my experiences (My blog/twitter moniker is OutInAPout, you might also see me on MakeupGeek.com, where I'm a staff member). Alongside makeup, I'm also a BIG skincare freak- I can regularly be found perusing scientific literature, because I am cynical and take very little at face value!

I've been fascinated with face painting for a long time- once my daughter started asking for it at festivals and the like, it was hard for me not to peek over to the painter's kit or ask questions (not always well received!)

I recently decided that I need to expand my artistry into face painting, which was spurred on- not in small part- by the fact that I'm increasingly being roped into face painting by family & friends (if there's face paints brought out in any form, all eyes turn to me!) Don't get me wrong, I'm fascinated by facepainting, but as you all know, it's a VERY different skill set from beauty makeup (and even avant-garde "editorial" style stuff). I actually found it a bit embarrassing because people expect me to be able to do it and I am NOT up to snuff! So....I'm in training again!