Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

What's your starting "bank"

View previous topic View next topic Go down

What's your starting "bank"

Post by Morninglory on Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:41 pm

When you set up what change do you begin with? When I was a server we had a $50 bank we started with. This usually worked well for making change, but if we needed to e could go to the office to exchange larger bills for smaller ones. That is not an option for face painting. How much have you found to be an appropriate amount to bring? I don't want to carry too much to start off but I also don't want to lose someone because I can't make change.

Also do you price at $5 increments or do you make sure they get ones back to encourage tipping? When I was a server I didn't like giving back one's, because if they had no one's they were more likely to tip $5 or more, but as a face painter I don't know the tip etiquette.
Morninglory

Number of posts : 88
Registration date : 2014-06-25

Back to top Go down

Re: What's your starting "bank"

Post by rthling on Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:27 pm

I'm the nutty one who likes to start out with $150-200 in ones and fives.
By the end of the day, I usually have only tens and twenties (and sometimes a hundred or two!) left.
We usually go through it.
rthling

Number of posts : 1829
Registration date : 2010-10-05

http://www.fancyfacesbydiane.com

Back to top Go down

Post by Maxell on Sun Jul 27, 2014 7:25 am

My first event of the summer, I had 150 in loonies, toonies, and fives...and i am glad I did...i needed. Second event I had a 200 dollar float....and barely touched it as like the first 10 people paid exact change and then i just used that....so i guess it depends...but I will definitely do a 150 float minimum.
Maxell

Number of posts : 99
Registration date : 2013-05-24

Back to top Go down

Post by Morninglory on Sun Jul 27, 2014 9:22 am