Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

How to clean bruses during event

View previous topic View next topic Go down

How to clean bruses during event

Post by jessfaceit on Mon Jul 28, 2014 11:41 am

Hi,  I'm Jessie. I'm new to face painting and new to this forum.  I've been practicing at home and with my daughter and grandchildren and posting pics on my FB page and I've been asked to paint for a back-to-school event a friends church is hosting.  I just have one question.  Is it necessary to clean brushes (and sponges) between each use for every child, and if so what is the best/quickest/easiest way to do that?  At home I use baby shampoo and really work it in the brush and rinse well, but that's not going to be possible between each child.  Any help is appreciated!

jessfaceit

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2014-07-28

Back to top Go down

Re: How to clean bruses during event

Post by thouartbeautiful on Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:55 pm

There is much debate on this issue so you are bound to hear quite a few different answers. Ultimately it boils down to what your local laws are and then what you feel comfortable with.

Personally like to use a smaller amount of water in two large dark colored cups to wash out pigment while painting that I change out often (as soon as it looks icky) and then I have three small cups, 1 soap and water, 1 water and then 1 sanitizer to clean between customers and swap to a new brush while it dries. I then have a cup with clean water used only to activate the paint. Some artists would consider it OCD, but I would much prefer a parent declaring how clean my set up is, rather than fussing over muddy water (yes it's not exactly dirty but people have a limited level of understanding).

If you would like to read previous threads on this issue, type "face paint forum hygiene/ sanitizing" into Google search and some threads should pop up.