Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Amanda from LA! About to place an order after much deliberation!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Amanda from LA! About to place an order after much deliberation!

Post by AmandaCS on Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:59 am

LA as in Louisiana, though I sure wish it was L.A. Smile I have lived here for 7 years and I have the itch and am planning a move back out to California after the school year ends next year.

I am a 33 year old mom of three boys (9,9 and 5). I keep fish tanks and potted fruit trees. I have a couple of 2 year degrees I am not using.

When I was an older teen, I used to paint faces for all the neighborhood kids and also during parties for my much younger sister's school. I really enjoyed doing it. I paint our faces every Halloween, but I haven't been doing it on any large scale for many many years.

I did used to get a lot of compliments and I did go on to apprentice in a tattoo shop where I mostly did sketches and freehand temporary tattoos for tips. People were always impressed with my art. Do I still have it in me?

I think I do! I may not be cut out for a proper 9 to 5 but I love art and making people smile.

I am about to put my first order in to the site shop here. Here is what I have finally decided after spending 2 days researching the options:

the 12 color mini DFX palette
glitter poofer
a few brushes and sponges

I know, I know --- that's it? I just don't want to go overboard on spending until I just sample what there is out there. I have gone back and forth on what to buy over the last couple of days and it has been so difficult to decide on a brand. When I was a teen, I just used whatever I snagged during those amazing after Halloween sales! I was so proud of my stash. But now I want to start out with the best.