Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

First Festival...Advice please!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

First Festival...Advice please!

Post by RickyMUA on Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:32 pm

Hello everyone,
In my area there is a Christmas festival coming up. The stated expected turn out is 1,500-2,000 if not more. I'm still waiting for a confirmation and a reply on whether there will be another face painter there. Rather than wait to the last minute, I'm asking for insight since I've never done a festival before. Besides business cards, banner(?), and a large amount of baby wipes, what else do you recommend bringing? Also how do you gage pricing? They have a $100 dollar fee if that helps you help me. lol

Thank you

RickyMUA

Number of posts : 55
Registration date : 2013-05-21

Back to top Go down

Re: First Festival...Advice please!

Post by thouartbeautiful on Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:11 am

Indoor festival? Paint, water, soap, sanitizer, cups, cards, bobby pins, 2 small hand mirrors, washcloths, brushes, sponges, bucket for dirty water, tables, tablecloths, warm clothes, thermos of warm coffee Wink display board (recommend fast faces you can perform in 5 minutes or less, if it's slow you can bring out more elaborate designs, but put them away when the line starts stacking up).

My lowest price would be based on the cost of the food items at the concession stand/booth. For example, if a hot dog is $5 then that's my lowest tier of pricing. $100 is a lot for a festival so it sounds like it must be a big event. A line manager may be helpful, armed with a camera and a stack of model release forms Wink

Research the turn out from last year, a festival that big can potentially be enough business for more than one face painter, but too many can be tough. Good luck!
thouartbeautiful

Number of posts : 731
Registration date : 2013-09-21

http://www.thouartbeautiful.com