Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Discouraged by other so call professional painters

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Discouraged by other so call professional painters

Post by Pixiewood Creations on Sat Nov 01, 2014 7:22 am

Just needed to have a vent and gauge other peoples opinions. I am new to running my facepainting as a business but have been painting for friends and family for a good few years. As I was starting to get people I did not know ask me to paint for them I decided I needed to set things up properly. I have insurance and working with childrens checks and I only buy good paints from facepaint suppliers I do not buy from local cheapy shops etc. I have researched local health guidelines etc and as far as I can see I am complying with them quite well. My rates are a lower than the other local painters but that is because I feel that my work is not yet up to their standard so I cannot expect people to pay the same for me as they would for someone who has 10+ years of experience...obviously as I gain more experience I can up my prices accordingly. I think what has sparked it is on one of the local questions pages on facebook a lot of people have been referring me when people ask about painters so I don't know whether it is that they do not realize I have insurance etc or what. I always direct people to my facebook page when they are enquiring about booking so that they can see photos of my work. I have noticed one of the bigger more experienced businesses posting a lot recently about professional painters etc and why they cost what they do etc and wonder whether it is somehow directed to me or not but also my client today has another friend who is a facepainter who wasn't available for her party and apparently she told the lady not to hire me...I have heard of the other painter but have never met her so how can she make a judgement like