Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Painting on wet paint

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Painting on wet paint

Post by sarahkvotta on Mon May 11, 2015 9:41 pm

hi there,

I struggle with painting quickly for wiggly kids. I'm fairly new to face painting. I think I have a hard time with getting a good base color with solid coverage and then jumping right in with my white just to have my white pick up the base color and smudge everything together. Do you let your base color sit to dry or blow on their face? I feel like I'm not getting good enough coverage on my base color if my sponges are dryer. This is especially true for black kids. Any help here is greatly appreciated. I can do great designs on myself but I give them time to dry and I just don't have that time at events.

Also suggestions for the wiggly kids! I try to ask them to sit still but I don't know that that helps. I'm in the greater Philadelphia area if any friends are as well!

Thank you!

sarahkvotta

Number of posts : 12
Registration date : 2015-04-15

http://sarahkvotta.wordpress.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Painting on wet paint

Post by Forest-Fairy on Mon May 11, 2015 11:34 pm

What brand of paint are you using?

If it's Glycerin based (Snaz, Mehron, Aquacolor etc) then these paints typically are easier to blend because they take longer to dry, it's also pretty hard to paint a good white of the same brand over top of them. But using a wax base white and black for over top of a glycerin base works great and this practice is pretty common among face painters.

If you are using a wax based paint (DFX, Wolfe, Tag, Global, Fab etc) then this should be less of an issue, and drying time should be quicker too. So i get more the feeling you are using a glycerin base brand of face paint.