Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Hello everyone and thank you!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hello everyone and thank you!

Post by msdarce on Sat Jun 27, 2015 6:15 pm

Hi Everyone,
I am a beauty makeup artist and now dabbling into face painting. I wish I would have gotten into face painting earlier in my career, boy have I been missing out. I love the creativity. I have been casually face painting my friend's kids especially for costume competitions with many first place wins, when it dawned on my that I should take this more seriously. Now seeing all of your work I have so much more to learn!!! Thank you for this forum and everyone's contributions. I have learn so much from product reviews, business advice, kit ideas etc.
I do have a question. I am a little confused to the wax vs glycerin based paints. I am looking at some of my paints that list both paraffin and glycerin, so it is wax or glycerin based? So if paraffin is listed first is it then wax based and vice versa? I guess what I am also asking is the wax based paraffin or something else?

Thank you again,

msdarce

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2015-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Hello everyone and thank you!

Post by LittleMonsters on Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:25 am

I'm not an expert... but glycerine based paints (like Snazaroo) are best suited to base colors as they take longer to dry and are great for blending and are not great for line work. Waxy paints dry faster and are much better suited for line work (Tag, DFX, Wolfe, etc).

In the latter examples above, paraffin wax is listed before glycerine in their ingredients list.
LittleMonsters

Number of posts : 397
Registration date : 2014-08-30

http://littlemonstersfacepainting.ca

Back to top Go down

Post by jlirie on Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:11 pm