Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Working on wiggle worms!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Working on wiggle worms!

Post by KaraHorchata on Wed Nov 18, 2015 11:48 pm

I've been painting for a few months now, I've been a traditional artist my entire life and a makeup artist for three years so I'm proud to say I'm picking it up nicely and I'm beginning to improve and feel comfortable!

However, I have no idea how to work on wiggling kiddos! I see all these consistently beautiful images of people's work and I have no idea how they get such pretty lines and clean designs! I have tried to set the palm of my hand on their head to keep them steady but it doesn't seem to work, or maybe I'm just not confident enough? I don't want to apply too much pressure or seem forceful. But as a perfectionist (aren't all artists? Rolling Eyes ) it bums me out when a kid is moving so much the design turns out awful. Do I just have to accept this is going to happen? I understand there's a "time limit" with most kiddos, but I'm talking about the ones who have ants in their pants the moment they sit down.

And I've noticed that A LOT of kids slowly lower their head as I'm painting on them (like by the time I'm done with a stroke they're staring at their lap Neutral ) it's so odd to me but maybe it's normal? Any tips would be greatly appreciated!!!!

KaraHorchata

Number of posts : 12
Registration date : 2015-11-13

http://www.littlefoxfacepaint.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Working on wiggle worms!

Post by Kris5115 on Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:34 am

Sometimes I ask wigglers to wiggle their toes. Once they focus on trying to wiggle their toes, they sometimes don't wiggle as much elsewhere!

Laura from Jacana Face Paint has a youtube on using 3 points of contact with the kid to help with stability. I'd recommend her videos.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vcq0RISRE4s
Kris5115