Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Glitter gel difficulties

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Glitter gel difficulties

Post by cassandra on Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:45 pm

Greetings face painters,

I'm new to face painting and am just starting to use glitter gel. I was wondering how you apply it in a thin line over paint. I have tried two methods:

1. squirt a bit on the back of my hand and use a brush. This takes a long time.
2. use a metal tip that fits over the nozzle of the bottle. This seems to lay down too much glitter. The finer tips clog.

Any words of advice from those with glitter know how?

Thanks.

Cassandra
cassandra

Number of posts : 219
Registration date : 2009-03-09

Back to top Go down

Re: Glitter gel difficulties

Post by Guest on Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:07 am

Liquid Bling Review this is a review I wrote for FABA Magazine.

The metal tips work for me... when they are in use, put a large headed pin in the nozzle to keep it clear when you are not applying the gel. When you are finished the job, remove and clean the metal nozzles. I soak for bit in alcohol, then very hot water, agitate the container to knock out the glitter, rinse several times, use a pin to ensure the tips are clear, dry off and put away until your next gig. Do not store with the pins in the gel as they can corrode.

If not using the metal tips, you can just squeeze a little gel where you want it on the skin, then use a flat dry brush to move it around where you want it, OR, apply a small dab to the brusth then apply.

Back to top Go down

Post by Perry Noia on Sun Mar 22, 2009 9:10 am

I'm guessing you're talking about the Snazaroo glitter gel? those really can't go down in a fine line, the pieces are too big... you'd have to use the liquid bling for that.
Perry Noia

Number of posts : 3523
Registration date : 2008-12-12

http://www.perrynoia.ca

Back to top Go down