Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

yikes! My first gig wasn't so fun haha....

View previous topic View next topic Go down

yikes! My first gig wasn't so fun haha....

Post by Nightsage on Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:20 pm

Had my first big face painting gig for my daughters school party.....I had the teacher coming out every thirty seconds to tell me to paint faster, and I should have brought faster options. Sad Then she told the kids that they didn't have time for the rest of them to get one because I wasn't fast enough and they started crying....so a parent went in and argued and they let the rest of the class get one done...except for one who was really upset and the teacher told her because she threw a fit she wouldn't get one at all....I had a parent come and help me for the last bit of it but they only gave me an hour to paint 40 plus kids....I am totally new to painting for parties so I know I need to work on my speed...but is this normal for parties? Am I going to get harassed like this all the time? The kids loved it and I may have a gig from this but wow that was stressful!
Nightsage

Number of posts : 7
Registration date : 2011-05-22

Back to top Go down

Re: yikes! My first gig wasn't so fun haha....

Post by eva on Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:02 pm

Oh honey, no one can paint 40 kids in an hour, unless they are superman/woman, that is barely time to use a stencil, or dauber. I can only see that working if you sponged like a rainbow butterfly with no details, and a tiger maybe with no lines or details. You tried to do something nice, and it wasn't appreciated by the teacher, and that's ok, they get stressed too. Sorry it didn't go so well. I plan an even 10 kids an hour. I can paint more than that, but I like to take my time and make room for the extra kiddies that always show up. You live and learn. I have def put myself in positions like that when I first started.